We hope you enjoy reading about each of our Governors. Unless stated otherwise, governors have not declared any business, governorship or relationship interests.

Ms Jean Holderness - Chair of Governors (also Chair at Grove CE Primary School & St Christopher's CE Primary School) Term of Office:  13.05.20 to 12.05.24

Reverend Margreet Armitstead Term: 07.07.16 to 06.07.24

Miss Jessica Broome - Staff Governor Term: 21.03.20 to 20.03.24

Mrs Jane Denby - Skills Governor and Vice Chair of Governors Term: 21.03.19 to 20.03.23

Mr Lucian Dunlop - Parent Governor Term: 25.01.2022 - 24.01.2026

Mrs Sarah Gordon-Weeks - Community Governor Term: 09.11.2021 to 08.11.2025

Mr Andrew Hall - Co-opted Governor Term: 10.03.22 to 09.03.2024

Mr Charlie Kerr - Foundation Governor Term: 06.10.2021 to 05.10.2025

Mrs Linda Raabe-Marjot - Foundation Governor Term: 10.03.2022 to 09.03.2026

Ms Katie Screaton – Executive Headteacher 

Mrs Charlene Sina - Parent Governor Term: 25.01.2022 - 24.01.2026

Mrs Linsey Jones – Clerk to the Governors


Governance Structure

Our Governors provide strategic leadership and accountability in our school. Governors appoint the Headteacher and Deputy Headteacher. It is governors who hold senior leaders to account for the performance of the school and, working with the Headteacher, make the tough decisions about balancing resources.

ODST has a Board of Trustees which oversees the work of the Trust including the effectiveness of Local Governing Bodies.

Our Local Governing Body meets up to six times a year. Every governor attends these meetings and may also be a member of our  sub-Committee, which meet circa five times a year.

The Resources Committee ensures that the school uses its resources to achieve best value, thereby supporting the learning of all our students. This Committee is also responsible for Health and Safety, Premises and Staffing. 

The Resources Committee comprises:

  • Jean Holderness 
  • Jane Denby - Chair
  • Rev. Margreet Armitstead
  • Katie Screaton - Headteacher
  • Sam Rhodes [School Business Manager] in attendance

 Please see the attendance record below.

If you are interested in becoming a Governor of John Henry Newman Academy, please come in and see us by making an appointment with the School Office. Please also see The ODST website for more information on becoming a school Governor.

 If you would like to contact the Chair of Governors please email: or call 01865 772495. Letters should be directed to:

The Chair of Governors, John Henry Newman Academy, Grange Road, Littlemore, Oxford, OX4 4LS